Marlene talks about following your dreams

Marlenedomesticdiva

A girl should always follow her dreams.

I will share a secret with you. The summer after I graduated from high school, I ran away from home. I had saved my babysitting money from watching those dreadful little Johnson children, watching every penny.

Lets face it. I had the look and still have a great can.

I wanted to be a movie star, like Joan Crawford. So I bought a ticket to Hollywood and got a job at a very nice establishment.

jiggly

I met an older woman who showed me the ropes.

“You’re gonna love it here!”

I wonder whatever happened to poor Lola. She was the best damn showgirl I ever knew.

Anyways, she told me I needed to pick a stage name. I hadn’t thought of this before. I loved my name, it always suited me perfectly. Eventually, I asked dear Lola to choose one for me.

“Sherry Poppins!”

What’s that Mary Alice? No, the popovers are not finished yet.

I could never tell her what I really did while I was out of town. She thought I went to visit my ailing grandmother. Such a delicate soul. Never switch her coffee.

Soon enough I learned the ways of a dancer, dancer for money.

Girl-With-Heart-Tattoo-Clipart-Vector-Preview

That night was a blur.

My plan was simple. I would dance my way into the heart of a rich man who would then parade me about town like a piece of hot arm candy. I would get noticed due to my abnormally beautiful self by the right person at the right time.

I would wear diamonds and pearls and be a starlet of the silver screen.

Everything was going just fine until daddy showed up.

marlenesdad

“Get your eyes off of my daughter you perverts!”

I tried to run, but my high heel got caught in a crack and I landed ass over teakettle onto some drunkards lap. Then he vomited into my cleavage.

Daddy took me back home, where Joe welcomed me back with open arms.

Joe

“You were gone?”

Shut up, Joe.

So ladies, here is my advice. If there is something you want to do, do it. Never be afraid to follow that crazy dream you have.

And never try to run in high fucking heels.

About Merbear74

Writing for me is a sort of self therapy and something that I have loved to do since I was young. I write about many things such as fibromylagia, chronic pain and depression. Sometimes, I also make an attempt at being funny.
This entry was posted in humor, retro, satire, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Marlene talks about following your dreams

  1. merbear74 says:

    Reblogged this on Knocked over by a feather and commented:

    Marlene talks about following all those crazy dreams, and how important it is.

  2. Twindaddy says:

    Sorry about throwing up in your cleavage. Sometimes I have trouble limiting my alcohol intake.

  3. Oh, my, Marlene. You told me that heart was a birthmark! It’s like I hardly know you oh by the way, the popovers burned.

  4. Sherry Poppins? hahaha… but I agree, never run in heels :o) Thanks for a great post, I need some funny moments today :o)

  5. C.K. Hope says:

    The fall didn’t snap the heel off the shoe did it? That would be a shame, dancer’s have the best high heels.

  6. I brought my jar full of pennies to make it hail…. er, rain! Dance for me Sherry!

  7. djmatticus says:

    A good safety tip to be sure, never running in high heels. And a good life lesson too… running can keep you from reaching your dreams… that is what you are trying to say, right?
    And somehow the queen manages to dance in high heels all the time… and some of those dances are basically running while skipping and twirling at the same time. I think she has some spell she casts on them to make sure she doesn’t fall over. I’ve asked her how she does it but she never gives me a straight answer…

  8. QUOTE: merbear74 says:
    September 20, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    I can swallow it dry!
    ~I am somehow intrigued by this……

  9. Reblogged this on aliceatwonderland and commented:

    Marlene follows her dream. Marlene’s standards are, well, check it out . . .

  10. 1jaded1 says:

    Was thinking along the lines of Cherry Poppins too. Funny, funny.

  11. The look on Lola’s face is priceless!!!! Thanks for the laugh. πŸ™‚

  12. And never try to run in high fucking heels.

    Advice for the ages, to be sure. And Lola has some wild, scary eyes.

Leave a Reply

