Retro Santa

I was looking at some old photographs the other night when I stumbled across this picture.

moms-santa

You gotta love those plaid slacks I’m wearing.


That is me circa 1970’s with my mom’s Santa doll that she received as a Christmas present when she was a little girl, probably close to 1950 or so.

Every year, my mom takes Santa out of his plastic bag and sets him free. She claims that she can hear him from her closet, ever so faintly, calling to her.

“Get me outta here!”

Who knows? Maybe he does or else my mom is a bit on the wacky side.

Here’s a recent picture of good old Santa Claus.

santarecent

I might smell a little but damn I look good for my age!

 

I don’t care if you reek, Santa, just bring me some fuzzy socks and a bottle of white zinfindel.

Do you have any retro Christmas decorations?

About Merbear74

Writing for me is a sort of self therapy and something that I have loved to do since I was young. I write about many things such as fibromylagia, chronic pain and depression. Sometimes, I also make an attempt at being funny.
This entry was posted in childhood, humor, retro, stories, toys, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Retro Santa

  1. JackieP says:

    Aw, it’s so cute…the Santa too. πŸ˜‰ ❀

  2. draliman says:

    You gotta love ’70s fashion πŸ™‚ I wonder if they’ll look at pictures of us come 2050 and wonder what we were thinking, jeans and t-shirts, whaaaaat?

  3. Santa looks like a dressed up version of that evil ventriloquist dummy from that Twilight Zone episode. He should come out of the closet for Halloween, not Christmas!

  4. Merbear74 says:

    He is sorta creepy, my brother hates him.

  5. Ladybuggz says:

    I’ve got some real old Chinese lanterns, they are like heavy foil, brightly coloured and accordion style decorations, you pull the ends and hang them up..they are so cool but most are held together with tape now……sigh… πŸ™‚ Cute Santa! πŸ™‚

  6. Kat says:

    We still bring out a ceramic donkey thing that holds poinsettias. My grandmother made it back in the 60s I think. I’ve repainted it once.

Leave a Reply

